SAINT LEO UNIVERSITY. Center for Catholic-Jewish Studies

Previous Recipients of the Eternal Light Award

Since 1999, the Center for Catholic-Jewish Studies' Eternal Light Award is presented to a scholar who has made contributions to Catholic-Jewish studies. Previous recipients of the Eternal Light Award are listed below.

Professor Jan Karski (1914 - 2000) Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University

The Rev. John Pawlikowski Professor of Social Ethics, Catholic Theological Union

Rabbi Irving Greenberg President, Jewish Life Network and Chairman, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Professor Deborah Lipstadt Institute for Jewish Studies and Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish and Holocaust Studies, Emory University

Most Reverend John J. Nevins (1932 - 2014) Bishop of the Diocese of Venice, Florida

Rabbi Sanford Saperstein (1919 - 2005) Rabbi Emeritus, Temple Beth Israel, Longboat Key, Florida

His Eminence William Cardinal Keeler (1931 - 2017)

Archbishop of Baltimore, Maryland

Rabbi A. James Rudin

Senior Interreligious Advisor, American Jewish Committee and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Religion and Judaica, Saint Leo University

Professor James Buchanan, Rabbi Abie Ingber, & Professor William Madges

creators of A Blessing to One Another: Pope John Paul II and the Jewish People Exhibit

Professor Amy-Jill Levine

E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Professor of New Testament Studies at Vanderbilt University Divinity School

Dr. Arthur F. Kirk, Jr. President, Saint Leo University, and founder of the CCJS

Professor Mary C. Boys

Union Theological Seminary in New York

Rabbi Abraham Skorka

Rector, Latin American Rabbinical Seminary, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Dr. Philip A. Cunningham

Professor of Theology and Director, Institute for Jewish-Catholic Relations of Saint Joseph's University in Philadelphia

Dr. Ruth Langer

Professor of Jewish Studies in the Theology Department at Boston College, and Associate Director of its Center for Christian-Jewish Learning

Sister Celia M. Deutsch N.D.S. Research Scholar, Barnard College/Columbia University

Rabbi Dr. David Novak

Professor and J. Richard and Dorothy Shiff Chair of Jewish Studies, University of Toronto

Dr. Eugene Fisher

Distinguished Professor of Theology, Saint Leo University

Rabbi Dr. David Fox Sandmel

Former Chair, International Jewish Committee for Interreligious Consultations

Joseph Sievers

Professor of Jewish History and Literature at the Pontifical Biblical Institute, Rome