Military & Veteran Benefits

Saint Leo University is approved for Military Tuition Assistance and Veterans Administration Funding. The Department of Defense (DOD) offers tuition assistance for voluntary, off-duty educational programs that support service members' professional and personal development goals. Some branches of the armed services have specific policies on tuition assistance (TA) that differ from the general DOD policy. To verify your eligibility and assess resources available, please contact your military education office.

Top-Up
Military students that have been on active duty for at least two years and have applied to the VA for either MGIB or Post- 9/11 may elect to use part of their VA benefits to "top-up" and cover tuition costs that exceed the standard tuition assistance cap. Requests for top-up are submitted directly to the VA by the military student.

You may utilize your VA benefits for Saint Leo University programs. To assess eligibility for benefits under the GI Bill, please call the VA at 1-888-442-4551. Benefits are based on a number of considerations, including the subject matter of your studies, your length of military service, DOD supplements to your MGIB, and other factors. Detailed information of Veterans Education Benefits can be found on the VA website: www.gibill.va.gov.

In order to use your VA educational benefits at Saint Leo University, you must:
Officially apply to Saint Leo University and request all transcripts be sent to the center within the first two academic terms. Saint Leo University does not determine VA eligibility. Eligibility to receive education benefits is determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Once you have registered for classes, provide the School Certifying Official (SCO) with documentation of your VA eligibility in the form of a certificate of eligibility letter or a copy of your VA application. Your SCO will then submit a 22-1999 to the VA on your behalf.

What will VA Cover?

Montgomery GI Bill, Reap, Selected Reserves 1606, DEA Chapter 35
These funds do not come to Saint Leo University. They will be sent to you on a monthly basis depending on your enrollment status. Discuss your options of tuition payment with your admissions representative.

Post-9/11 GI Bill
Under the Post-9/11 GI Bill, individuals who have served on active duty for at least 90 days on or after September 11, 2001 receive tuition and fees not to exceed the capped costs set for private institutions of higher education. They also receive a monthly basic allowance for housing (BAH) based upon one-half the national average and a yearly stipend (up to $125 per class not to exceed $1,000 annually) to supplement the cost of books. Tuition is paid directly to Saint Leo University. BAH and book stipends are paid directly to the student. The percentage rate (40%, up to 100%) paid is based on the accumulated time served after September 11, 2001.

Yellow Ribbon Program
To assist students whose tuition and fees exceed the capped amount, the Post-9/11 GI Bill has an additional provision called the Yellow Ribbon Program. Under this voluntary program, Saint Leo University has entered into an agreement with the VA to help fund the additional expenses for eligible students. You must be eligible for Post-9/11 at 100% to also be eligible for the Yellow Ribbon Program.

Chapter 31: Vocational Rehabilitation
To qualify for this benefit, the service member must have a service-connected disability. For more information regarding this benefit and the application process, contact the VA at 800-827-1000 or visit www.va.gov.

Can I Use My VA Benefits and Apply for Financial Aid?

VA is the NET PAYOR, and Saint Leo University must deduct any payments made directly to the university that is only for tuition and fees. Examples of such payments and waivers include, but are not limited to:

  • Non-Title IV financial aid
  • Military tuition assistance
  • Employer tuition payments paid to the university
  • Private scholarships for tuition (paid to the university)
  • Military Spouse Career Advancement Accts (MYCAA)
  • Tuition percentage discounts

In no instance is an award of federal financial aid under Title IV deducted from net charges for tuition and fees. These include, but are not limited to:

  • Unsubsidized and Subsidized Federal Family education loans
  • Unsubsidized and Subsidized Federal Direct Stafford loans
  • FFEL Parent (PLUS) loans, Federal Direct PLUS loans
  • Federal Pell Grants
  • Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity grant

Education-Related Programs

VA Work-Study Allowance Program
The Work-Study Program is available to any educational benefit recipient who is attending a college or university at three-quarter time (16 week term = 9 credits) or more. Students may obtain employment at the VA Medical Facility, VA Regional Office, or at other approved state employment facilities. Students are paid at federal or state minimum wage (whichever is higher), and these payments are non-taxable. Interested individuals should contact Veteran Benefits and Certifications in the University Registrar's Office or the Decatur, GA Office at 800-827-1000 and request the work-study desk.

Veterans Upward Bound
The Veterans Upward Bound Program provides instruction and advising to veterans beginning or returning to college or pursuing a GED. The program provides services to all low-income or first generation college-bound veterans. The program offers day and evening classes and operates on an open entry system. To qualify, a veteran must have served more than 180 consecutive days on active duty with at least a portion of this service falling after January 31, 1955. Discharge status can be anything but dishonorable in order to participate. Courses offered include English/Reading, Writing/Literature, Math, Basic Computers, Spanish, and Science.

ThanksUSA.org
The nonprofit organization ThanksUSA invites all children and spouses of military personnel to apply for one of nearly 1,000 scholarships of up to $5,000 each for college, vocational, and technical schools. Apply by May 30 to qualify. To learn more about the scholarship and to download the application, go to www.thanksusa.org.

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs regulations require that all persons using any type of veteran educational assistance programs make satisfactory academic progress toward achievement of their educational objective (degree plan), as defined in the Saint Leo University catalog. A student who fails to meet the minimum standards will be placed on probation or disqualification. For more information on Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP), please click here.

Changes in Student Status
It is the veteran student's responsibility to notify Saint Leo University regarding any change in enrollment, address, degree plan, enrollment at another institution, or any other change that may impact his or her veteran educational benefits. Failure to report such changes can result in an overpayment requiring debt collection action from the VA.

Credit for Prior Training/Training
Veteran students are required to request and have evaluated all prior college and university credit received prior to, during, and after military service. This is to ensure that the VA does not pay for coursework twice and that students receive the most from their benefits.

All active military and veterans attending Saint Leo University are encouraged to contact the VA Certifying Officials by phone or email with any questions pertaining to the processing of VA educational benefits or military activation assistance while at Saint Leo University.

Contact Information

Please submit approved TA forms to Gena Freese, billing coordinator:
Email: gena.freese@saintleo.edu or fax them to 352-588-8445, ATTN: Gena Freese.

Centers and Corresponding Veteran Certifying Officials (VCOs)
                                           As of May 28, 2013

CENTRAL REGION

Morrow, Gwinnett and Marietta

Edward Head
edward.head@saintleo.edu
(770)-960-5005

Michelle Myrick-Simmons
michelle.myrick-simmons@saintleo.edu
(770) 960-5500

Denise Broadhurst
denise.broadhurst@saintleo.edu
(770)-960-5007

Eric Hill
eric.hill@saintleo.edu
(678) 380-4006

DeEtta Peter
deetta.peter@saintleo.edu
(770) 960-5007

North Charleston

Miriah Jones
miriah.jones@saintleo.edu
(843) 554-2111 x3150

Columbus

April Abilez
april.abilez@saintleo.edu
(662) 434-8844

Dew White
dew.white@saintleo.edu
(662) 434-8844

Corpus Christi

Sara Heydon
sara.heydon@saintleo.edu
(361) 776-2808

Alma Martinez
alma.martinez@saintleo.edu
(361) 937-1452

Savannah

Danielle Scott
danielle.scott@saintleo.edu
(912) 352-8331 ext 3028

Brenda Maxwell
brenda.maxwell@saintleo.edu
(912) 352-8331 ext 3020

Shaw

Cynthia Laumer
cynthia.laumer@saintleo.edu
(803) 666-3221

Katie Degner
katie.degner@saintleo.edu
(803) 666-3221

Kevin Brown
kevin.brown@saintleo.edu
(803) 666-3221

FLORIDA REGION

Eglin

Angela Thomas
angela.thomas02@saintleo.edu
(850) 279- 3509

Gainesville

Kristen Copenhaver
kristen.copenhaver@saintleo.edu
(352) 367-1192

Heather Harrington
heather.harrington@saintleo.edu
(352) 367-1192

Key West

Tyler Upshaw
tyler.upshaw@saintleo.edu
(305) 293-2847

Lake City

Martha Lee
martha.lee@saintleo.edu
(386) 752-6866

Julie Turk
julie.turk@saintleo.edu
(386) 752-6866

MacDill, Tampa Center, Pinellas, HCC

Cassandra Sherrill
cassandra.sherrill@saintleo.edu
(813) 840-0259 x3221

Brittany Jones
brittany.jones02@saintleo.edu
(813) 226-2776

Tammy Tribble
tammy.tribble@saintleo.edu
(813) 840-0259 x3222

Madison

Christy Roebuck
christy.roebuck@saintleo.edu
(850) 973-3356

Mayport

Michelle Stephens
michelle.stephens@saintleo.edu
(904) 249-0911

Jessica Starkey
jessica.starkey@saintleo.edu
(904) 477-0059

Ocala

Lisa Sickels
lisa.sickels@saintleo.edu
(352) 854-2322 x1811

Palatka

Deborah Ryster
deborah.ryster@saintleo.edu
(386) 325-1477

Jessica Starkey
jessica.starkey@saintleo.edu
(904) 477-0059

Tallahassee & Eglin

Matthew Hollern
matthew.hollern@saintleo.edu
(850) 201-8655

Meshundria Turner
meshundria.turner@saintleo.edu
(850) 201-8655

University Campus – Graduate Online, Weekend & Evening and San Diego

Alexis Gilliard
alexis.gilliard@saintleo.edu
(352) 588-8980

Danielle Browning
danielle.browning@saintleo.edu
(352) 588-7534

Lori Lavery-Broda
lori.lavery-broda@saintleo.edu
(352) 588-8482

VIRGINIA REGION

Fort Eustis

Doris McRae
doris.mcrae@saintleo.edu
(757) 887-1166 x239

William 'Frank' Staples
william.staples@saintleo.edu
(757) 887-1166

Daniel Yanok
daniel.yanok@saintleo.edu
(757) 887-1166 x3357

Fort Lee

Nancy Story
nancy.story@saintleo.edu
(804) 861-9634 x3332

Latoya Livingston
latoya.livingston@saintleo.edu
(804) 861-9634 x3330

Langley

Siddiqua Champlin
siddiqua.champlin@saintleo.edu
(757) 766-1814

Don Cooperwood
don.cooperwood@saintleo.edu
(757) 766-1814

South Hampton Roads - NAS Oceana, Naval Station Norfolk and Chesapeake

Phillisia Roberts
phillisia.roberts@saintleo.edu
(757) 464-6449 x3415

Charlene Cofield
charlene.cofield@saintleo.edu
(757) 464-6449

Kendall Howell
kendall.howell@saintleo.edu
(757) 382-7599 x3416

Chandra Myers
chandra.myers@saintleo.edu
(757) 464-6449 x3412

Margaret Park
margaret.park@saintleo.edu
(757) 464-6449 x3409

CENTER FOR ONLINE LEARNING

Marlene Tillman
marlene.tillman@saintleo.edu
(813) 226-4908

Kerry Carter
kerry.carter@saintleo.edu
(813) 226-4907

Hilary Bisaillon
hilary.bisaillon@saintleo.edu
(813) 226-4860