Saint Leo Forms Honor Society Chapter for Student-Athletes

March 29, 2010

St.Leo_Honor_Society Saint Leo University, in conjunction with the National College Athlete Honor Society, has announced the formation of the Zeta Chapter of the NCAHS. The chapter will recognize the most academically outstanding Saint Leo student-athletes during the course of a school year. 

The National College Athlete Honor Society is the first national scholar-athlete society to honor collegiate student-athletes who have excelled in both the classroom and in athletic competition. Chi Alpha Sigma recognizes college students who received a varsity letter in their sport while earning a 3.50 or higher cumulative GPA after five full-time semesters.

The NCAHS Saint Leo chapter also requires that student-athletes nominated demonstrate sound moral character, discipline, a positive attitude, leadership skills needed to mentor other athletes, and a commitment to service and to Saint Leo’s core values.

The National College Athlete Honor Society was founded at DePauw University, Greencastle, Indiana, in 1996 by Nick Mourouzis, DePauw head football coach and professor of kinesiology. Mourouzis recognized that there were many organizations that honored top or elite athletes with high academic achievements, but none that honored all participants of athletic teams who were letter winners of their sport and who maintained a high cumulative grade point average.  Chi Alpha Sigma hopes to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments, and colleges in much the same way as Phi Beta Kappa honors scholastics.

The Lions are pleased to announce the inaugural class of 20 members (with their respective grade point averages), to be inducted into the society during an April 21st ceremony to be held at Kafe Kokopelli in Dade City, Fla.:  Bruce Cutler (3.97); Alison Luthman (3.91); Emily Zambito (3.91); Elizabeth Casey (3.89); Shaena Keefe (3.87); Kaitlin McKenna (3.85); Scott Stefanek (3.84); Jessica Pall (3.83); Richard MacLachlan (3.79);Matt Salay (3.70); Chelsea Armer (3.65); Melinda Pierce (3.64); Kyle Marceau (3.63); Cody Allen (3.62); Erin Lucas (3.61); Hannah Beard (3.56); Tom Crawford (3.55); Ryu Arakawa (3.53); Courtney Kassab (3.52); Anna Riss (3.51).