Alumni Awards

Our alumni do great things.

Saint Leo graduates conduct cancer research in Texas, attend Harvard Law School, serve as commissioned officers in the United States military, develop ecologically sustainable tourism practices in Ecuador, and help shape future generations as educators across America.

Each year, Saint Leo University's Alumni Association honors graduates for their outstanding achievements.

Awards are presented each spring during Alumni Weekend at our Tampa-area University Campus.

Nominate an Alumnus

You have the opportunity to recommend qualified candidates from among our nearly 80,000-strong alumni community. Know a Saint Leo graduate who deserves to be honored? Submit your nomination here.

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award

The highest honor bestowed by the Saint Leo University Alumni Association, the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award recognizes alumni who have dedicated their time, energy, talent or financial resources towards the betterment of the University. Service can be in the form of an Alumni Association position (officer or committee member), or any involvement that advances the mission and core values of Saint Leo through dedicated volunteer efforts—e.g., Annual Fund volunteer, Admissions volunteer, event host.

Outstanding Service Award

The Saint Leo Outstanding Service Award recognizes distinguished service by an alumnus or alumna to his/her profession, alma mater, church, other civic effort or to humanity. The criterion for this award is a continuous record of distinguished service in a chosen field of endeavor, with strong connections to the mission of Saint Leo University.

Young Alumnus/Alumna Award

The Saint Leo University Young Alumnus/Alumna Award is presented to an alumnus or alumna who has reached a significant level of achievement in his/her profession, and who is a model of the quality and caliber of today's Saint Leo student. The candidate, under 35 years of age, must have received a bachelor's or master's degree from Saint Leo within the past 10 years and achieved a significant level of distinction within his/her chosen field.

Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame honors former students, coaches and administrators who excelled in Saint Leo athletics. View current Hall of Fame members, and nominate a member here.

Saint Leo University Alumni Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award

1995-Gary Comp ‘75
2008-Kathleen M. Reidy `71
2008-Jim Chitwood `88
2009-Shannon Schambeau Patterson, `03 & `05
2010-Nathan Krekula `04
2013-Nick Muley ‘90
2015-Donald R. Tapia ’05,’07

Outstanding Service Award

2013-F.J. Collura ‘63
2015-Doug Reichwein ‘07
2015-Michael Pagnotta ‘10

Young Alumnus/Alumna Award

2013-Alexis Rojas ‘11
2015-Mary Cahee ‘05

Church Service Award

2004-Father J. Patrick Ryan `72
2004-Michael Kosiba `77
2004-Gregory Lambert `00
2008-Charles McCarthy `67
2009-Sr. Dorothy Neuhofer `49

Honorary Alumnus/Alumna Award

2004-Fr. Robert Francis Velten
2004-Gail Greenfelder
2005-Dr. Anthony Zaitz
2008-Norman D. Kaye
2008-Fr. George Paulson
2010-Walter Plazewski, Sr.

Military Service Award

2004-Willis Witty `81
2008-Konstantine “Gus” Goanos `78
2008-Dennis McFadden `85
2008-Gary Whittacre `03
2008-Leo Williamson `39
2009-Philip Watson `05
2009-Kevin Jones `08
2010-Kelly Carter `05
2011-Charles “Mike” Williams ‘70

Professional Achievement Award

2001-Daniel “Dan” McBath `84
2004-Dr. John A. Phillips, Jr. `68
2004-George Steffen `89
2004-Rose Thomas `86
2008-Michael Sciarini 94
2008-James “Jim” Jacobson `70
2009-Maureen Cruz `87
2010-Maryellen Burke ‘87

Service to Community Award

2004-Sarah Smith Anker `86
2004-John H. Christian, II `01
2004-Joan Rothrauff `91
2008-Isell Denson `82
2009-Ulysses “Butch” Valdes `92
2009-Raymond J. Denny `98
2009-Jarrod Brent Shivers `06
2010-Martin “Jaime” Haigh ‘98
2011-Rodney Kinlaw ‘09

Service to Saint Leo Award

2001-Fred Rust `54
2004-Cathleen Warick DeMuth `88
2004-Julie Tobey Jenkins `84
2004-Fr. Gregory Traeger `34
2008-Kim Ann Callan `80
2009-Dominick Filipponi `96
2009-Dr. Edward Dadez `02
2009-Gordon W. Winslow `59
2010-Karen (Confrancesco) McNulty ‘87
2011-John E. View ‘72